

2022 MINNESOTA SENATE DISTRICT 29 DFL CONVENTION

Saturday, April 23, 2022 • 10:00 AM Buffalo Middle School • 1300 Hwy. 25

CONVENTION Minutes

1. Call to order

Chair Lani Brown Worley

- a. Convention called to order at 10:15 a.m.
- 2. **Pledge of Allegiance** Shawne Worley

3. Welcome and special speakers-

- a. Thank you presented by Chair Lani Brown-Worley to John and Karen Deitering. They were presented with an appreciation plaque.
- b. Recognition given to Sally Blair, outgoing district secretary.

4. Special visitors/speakers

- c. MN State Auditor Julie Blaha visited and spoke to attendees and provided words of support and encouragement.
- d. State Executive Committee Secretary DFL Ciri Everett spoke to convention participants about getting the word out to vote.
- e. Senator Steve Cwodzinksi spoke to attendees with words regarding civil engagement.
- d. Chris Brazelton, candidate for Minnesota Senate, spoke to convention attendees about her reasons why she is running for office.
- e. John Deitering campaign manager for Chris Brazelton talked to the attendees about the PCA contribution. Chris will need \$3,000 in \$50.00 increments to support campaign efforts.
- f. Representative Laurie Pryor spoke to the group about the resolution passed by the MN house of Representatives condemning the violence of January 6 in Washington D.C. and the meaning of democracy and DFL values.
- g. Dani Main-Vice chair Congressional District 6- provided words of encouragement and support for the DFL values and support for candidate Jeanne Hendricks
- h. Logan Kortgard Regional Director CD 6 & 7 talked about the importance of maintaining house and senate seats. Logan encouraged everyone to visit dfl.org/volunteer to register to volunteer.
- i. Jenny Hendricks- Candidate for US Congressional District 6. Jenny provided her platform for a change in leadership in Washington. She shared what she supports and what she will work for in Washington if elected.

5. **Outreach and Inclusion Statement** – Shawne Worley

6. Election of Convention Chair

a. Lani nominated Del Jenkens- Del Jenkens was unanimously voted to the position.

67 Appointment of Convention Secretary and 2 Tellers

- a. Gwen Briesemeister appointed as secretary
- b. Judi Gay and Jan Kittok appointed as Tellers

8. Adoption of Convention Rules

a. no action needed at this time

9. Adoption of Agenda

a. motion to adopt Agenda passed unanimously

10. Adoption of SD29 Constitution (Minnesota DFL Constitution and Bylaws dated August 2021, Rev B)

a. motion to approve the Constitution passed unanimously

11. Resolution Process for Adoption of 20 to send to State:

- a. Delegates were given a ballot and asked to select no more than 20 resolutions and returned to convention **Tellers**
- b. Judi Gay explained the voting process with delegates.
- c. Votes will be tallied and moved on to the state.
- d. See attachment for list of final resolutions

12. Officer Reports: Credential Committee, Treasurer

- a. Mary Handt-Credential Committee-22 delegates are present today
- b. Ann Bajari- Treasurer many PCR donations were given this year. Approximate balance is \$19,000

13. Framing the Message Presentation

- a. George and Lisa Green provided a message to attendees about how to provide effective messaging.
- b. George has several upcoming workshops. Visit their website connectionslab.org for more information.

14. Election of a Precinct Chair in each SD29 Precincts (need not be present to be elected) by delegates in the precinct (report name/precinct on paper to Ann Bajari)

a. Ann Bajari gave information about how to go about electing local positions

b. Information was provided at each table and final decisions will be passed on to Ann Bajari.

15. Election of SD 29 Officers: Nominations Committee Report

Chair: Lani Brown-Worley- motion to elect Lani Brown- motion passed **Vice Chair-** Deb Brisk -motion to elect Deb Brisk-motion passed

Secretary-Gwen Briesemeister-motion to elect Gwen Briesemeister-motion passed Treasurer- Ann Bajari-motion to elect Ann Bajari- motion passed

Outreach and Inclusion Officer- motion to elect Shawne Worley-motion passed

Directors (minimum of 11 with gender identity balance, if possible, maximum of 19)

Nominees for directors:

Mark Nelson

Joe Wright
Lori Cocking
Darlene Solberg

Roger Hedtke

Janice Kittok

Mary Durban

Judy Gay

Ben Frigo

Mary Handt

Motion to elect directors- motion passed

Additional directors may be added later. Del Jenkins and Dani Main decided to run for Directors.

They will be added to our next meeting's agenda.

16. Election of 2 people to attend the State Central Committee Meetings with 4 Alternates (chair and vice chair are delegates 1 and 2)

- a. Delegates: Janice Kittok, Shawne Worley (with Lani Brown and Deb Brisk) motion to elect delegatesmotion passed
- b. Alternates (4): Mary Durban, Ann Bajari, Joe Wright, Ben Frigo motion elect alternates-motion passed
- 17. Election of 11 people to represent SD29 at the CD6 Convention in Victoria (Date May 1) and the State Convention in Rochester (May 20-22) with up to 11 alternates and Election of 1 person to represent SD29 at the CD7 Convention (Date TBA) and the State Convention in Rochester (May 20-22) with one alternate

CD6 Nominees for delegates

Lani Brown Worley Shawne Brown Worley Ann Bajari Deb Brisk Janice Kittok Del Jenkins Judi Gay Chris Brazelton Motion to elect delegates-motion passed

Nominees for Alternates

Joe Wright Motion to elect alternates-motion passed

CD7 Nominees for delegates

No nominees at this time

Additional nominees for delegates and alternates will be left open until filled.

18. Endorsements for State Senate and State House

- a. Nominate and endorse Chris Brazelton for MN Senate- motion made to endorse Chris- motion passed
- b. No further nominations at this time, may be addressed later. Motion made to allow senate district to take up action of further nominations at a future time- motion passed.
- 19. **Other Business-** no other business at this time.
- 20. **Adjournment-** motion to adjourn at 12:36 P.M.

Delegate attendees:

Ann Bajari

Chris Brazelton

Darlene Solberg

Debra Brisk

Del Jenkins

Gwenda Bottoli

Joe Wright

Judith Gay

Kathy Wolff

Keith Peterson

Kim Schrupp

Dani Main

Lani Brown-Worley

Laurie Stammer

Lori Cocking

Mary Durben

Mary Handt

Mary Maier

Roger Hedtke

Shawne Worley

Sue Hedtke

Sunshine Hedlund

Visitor attendees:

Bob Belbeck

Karen Deitering

John Deitering

Larry Brazelton

Gwen Briesemeister

Logan Kortgard

Jan Kittok

Julia Blaha

Ben Frigo-Voz

Laurie Pryor

Steve Dwodzinski

Ceri Everett

Lisa Green

George Green

Donna Roemer

Jeanne Hendricks