Press Release

Back to Press Section

DFL Party Statement on Minnesota’s Republican Congressional Delegation Voting Against Impeachment


Today, Minnesota Democratic-Farmer-Labor Party Chairman Ken Martin released the following statement on Minnesota’s Republican Representatives voting against the bipartisan impeachment of the President of the United States for inciting insurrection:

“At Donald Trump’s urging, a mob descended on the United States Capitol, murdered a police officer, and sought to overturn the results of a free and fair election through the use of violence. This violent, armed insurrection resulted in the death of six Americans. Today, Representatives Jim Hagedorn, Tom Emmer, Michelle Fischbach, and Pete Stauber refused to hold President Donald Trump accountable for betraying his oath of office and inciting an insurrection attempt against the United States government.

“It is deeply disturbing that Minnesota’s Republican congressional delegation chose their political party over their country, their careers over the Constitution, and a mob over the people of Minnesota. There is no offense more impeachable than sedition and treason against the United States government, and the Minnesota Republican delegation’s votes not to impeach have condoned this behavior which should be universally denounced. Hagedorn, Emmer, Fischbach, and Stauber failed to stand up for the rule of law and American democracy when it mattered most and the people of Minnesota will not forget that.”