Press Release

Back to Press Section

DFL Party Calls for Reps Hagedorn and Fischbach to be Expelled from Congress


Today, the Minnesota Democratic-Farmer-Labor Party called on the United States Congress to expel Representatives Jim Hagedorn and Michelle Fischbach for their oaths to support and defend the Constitution. DFL Party Chairman Ken Martin issued the following statement:

“Just three days after Representatives Hagedorn and Fischbach swore oaths to defend the United States Constitution from all enemies, foreign and domestic, they violated those oaths by lending aid and comfort to an insurrectionist mob through their votes to overturn the results of a free and fair American election. Today, I am calling on Congressional leaders to begin the formal process of expelling Representatives Hagedorn and Fischbach from the House of Representatives.

“Yesterday’s mob breached the United States Capitol with the explicit goal of halting the certification of the 2020 presidential election and thwarting American democracy. It is unthinkable that any sitting members of Congress would share these aims, especially after that mob laid siege to the Capitol, yet Representatives Hagedorn and Fischbach have done exactly that and must face severe repercussions for their actions.

“At the core of any democracy is the agreement to resolve political differences through the ballot box, rather than the use of violence. By perpetuating the false notion that the former is no longer possible, Representatives Hagedorn and Fischbach have made the latter inevitable. If shortsighted and irresponsible politicians are allowed to continue leading our nation down this dark path, we may never recover. It is time for Congress to act in order to safeguard the future of American democracy.”

Yesterday, the DFL Party sharply criticized the role that every member of Minnesota’s Republican delegation to congress played in perpetuating the election fraud conspiracy that led to the storming of the United States Capitol. The DFL Party’s full statement on the culpability of Representatives Emmer, Hagedorn, Fischbach, and Stauber in that violence is available here.