Senate District 31



NOTE: This website is for the NEW Senate District 31 – Formed after THE 2022 redistricting transition.

The new district maps for Minnesota were released on Feb 15 by the MN Judicial Branch Special Redistricting Panel.

The “old” Senate District 31 has been fragmented and merged into 5 new Senate Districts: SD27, SD28, SD30, (newly drawn) SD31 and SD32, as pictured in this map.

The State of Minnesota hosts this website which can be used to find your new Senate district by entering your address or interactively searching on the map.

To stay informed, continue to monitor this SD31 website and subscribe to the SD31 email list (see below).


Subscribe to (and update your contact information in) the SD31 Email List via the online signup form found at this link.


The email list will be used to send a periodic newsletter with our meeting notice and to send occasional emails about special topics such as campaign events.


Continue to stay in touch!  Whether you are a new or continuing member of SD-31, please verify your mailing address via the online email signup form found at this link.

If you are unable to use that online form, you can also subscribe to the email list and/or update your contact information by sending an email to [email protected].




SD31 Calendar of Upcoming Events





May 17 – Start of filing period for MN State House and Senate.

MAY 19 – Thursday 7pm- First monthly SD-31 Meeting- Andover Civic Center

MAY 20-21-22  DFL State Convention, Rochester

May 31 – End of filing period for MN State House and Senate.

Jun 24 – Start of voting (by mail or in person) for Primary Election.

Aug 9Primary Election.

Sep 23 – Start of voting (by mail or in person) for General Election.

Nov 8General Election.


SD31 Party Leadership

Party leadership positions as elected at the April 22 Convention:

[email protected]


OFFICERS (2022-2023)

Chair-  Wes Volkenant

1st Vice Chair- Ronald Salazar

2nd Vice Chair- Kathryn Schwartz-Eckhardt

Outreach Officer – Ahmay Ya

Secretary- Laura Moore

Treasurer- Cheryl Volkenant


DIRECTORS  (2022-2024)


  • Andy Hillebregt
  • Patti Rysdam
  • Peter Miller
  • Barb Case
  • Will (Kim) Jones
  • George Drew
  • Scott Petty
  • Betsy O’Berry
  • Reed Joly


  • Mel Aanerud
  • Tiffany Weeks
  • Michael Schroeder
  • Gerald Etesse
  • Val Holthus
  • Alyson Gillette
  • Gary Oman
  • Alexander Becker
  • Jeff Wellman


State Central Committee Members

[Total 4 Delegates and 4 Alternates:  Chair & Vice Chair 1 are automatic SCC Delegates; VC-2 is 1st Alternate]

  • Andy Hillebregt- Delegate (31A)
  • Gerald Etesse- Delegate (31B)
  • Scott Petty- 2nd Alternate (after Vice Chair 2) (31A)
  • Gary Oman- 3rd Alternate (31B)
  • Betsy O’Berry – 4th Alternate (AT LARGE)


Anoka County DFL Delegates

  • Andy Hillebregt


Accommodation Resources

Here you can find some recommendations as well as resources on planning unit events.


DFL Party Documents

Here you can find the DFL Constitution, Official Call, Platform, and Action Agenda.