Senate District 09

Senate District 09


Senate District 09 is the Endorsing Unit of the Minnesota Democratic Farmer Labor Party providing organization and support for Local, State, Federal and National Democratic Endorsed candidates all across the Northwestern part of Minnesota which includes Wilkin County, Traverse County, Grant County, western third of Douglas County and Otter Tail County.  We are in Congressional District 07.

Spring is here and we wish everyone good health and happiness.  We are looking forward to working together toward the next horizon and 2024.

minnesota and USA flag, 3D rendering, crossed flags - 69955272

We are extremely proud to have re-elect our State DFL Leaders:  Governor – Tim Walz, Lt. Governor – Peggy Flannigan, Attorney General – Keith Ellison, Secretary of State – Steve Simon & State Auditor – Julie Blaha … AND retained the MN House while regaining the MN Senate!!

  Thank you to all of you who worked on the campaigns, volunteered and contributed.  

What the Minnesota Legislature Passed This Session

From legalizing cannabis to codifying abortion protections, this has been a historically productive session for Minnesota’s legislature.

 Abortion Rights Protections

Democracy for the People Act

Gun Control: Red Flag Law and Universal Background Checks 

Trans Refuge State

Marijuana Legalization 

Free College

Child Tax Credits and Rebates

Free School Meals

Driver’s License For All

Clean Energy 2040

Crown Act

Senate District 09 monthly meeting is held on the third Monday of the month at 7:30 pm.  We meet on zoom and if you wish to attend, please contact Vernae Hasbargen at:  [email protected]

logo, company name

Project BLUE!

Our party units are the lifeblood of the Minnesota DFL.  You are the grassroots of this party.  You are the ones on the ground, supporting your candidates and showing up in your communities.  You know your units better than anyone, and we want to help you grow and take your organizing to the next level.

That is why the Minnesota State DFL Party are announcing a program we’re calling Project BLUE: Building Local Unit Engagement.  This is a program that is designed to meet your units where you’re at and build on our culture of collaboration, forming smaller cohorts of units who are facing similar goals and challenges.  The Party Affairs team of Sonja Johnson and Laurie Aho will work with you to build strategies and offer specific tools and trainings for your cohorts to help you do the important work of growing the party and electing DFLers.


Minnesota’s New Senate District 9  Which is located in the Northwestern part of Minnesota, it includes Wilkin County, Traverse County, Grant County, western third of Douglas County and Otter Tail County.

SD9 DFL Central Committee

Chair Vernae Hasbargen, Wilkin
[email protected]

SD 9 Monthly Meetings are the third Monday at 7:30 pm.  For additional information contact Vernae

Vice-Chair Jay McNamar, Grant Chair [email protected]

Secretary Christeen Borsheim, Traverse [email protected]

Treasurer Paul Haarstick, Otter Tail [email protected]

Outreach Robin McNamar, Grant [email protected]

Grant County Judy Gunderson, Vice-Chair [email protected]

Grant next meeting will be on Tuesday, May 9, 2023.  Contact Jay McNamar for additional information [email protected]

Douglas County Bonnie Bina, Chair [email protected]

Douglas County meets on the 2nd Monday of the month at 6:15 pm at the Alexandria Library

Otter Tail County Mike Windey, Chair [email protected]
Ellen Palmer, Vice-Chair [email protected]

We meet on the Fourth Monday of the month.  Contact Mike or Ellen for addition information

Traverse County Clariece Brecht, Chair [email protected]
Frank Kuss, Vice-Chair [email protected],

Contact Clariece for additional information about local meetings

Wilkin County Greg Boole, Chair [email protected]
Colleen Engebretson, Vice-Chair [email protected]

Our monthly meeting will meet on the 1st Tuesday of the Month at the Breckenridge Public Library at 7 pm.

No photo description available.




November 2023

Monday November 20 SD9 Monthly Mtg. 7:30 pm

Monday November 27 OTC Monthly Meeting Location TBA


December  2023

Merry Christmas

Saturday December 9, 2023  State Central Committee will meet at the Burnsville High School in Burnsville, MN. Precinct Caucus material will be ready to pick-up.




January 2024

Monday January 22 OTC Monthly Meeting

January Precinct Caucuses training


February 2024

Monday February 26 OTC Monthly Meeting

Tuesday February 27 Precinct Caucuses at 7 sites In Otter Tail County, Battle Lake H.S., M State in Fergus Falls, Pelican Rapids Library, Henning H.S., Perham Middle School, New York Mills H.S., and Parkers Prairie H.S.  


March 2024

Tuesday March 5 Presidential Primary

Plan for an Office??


April 2024

Saturday April 20 Otter Tail Convention, Battle Lake H.S 8:30 am. to 12noon

Monday April 22 OTC Monthly Meeting

Saturday April 27 Senate District 9 Convention, Place and time TBA


DFL Party Documents

Here you can find the DFL Constitution, Official Call, Platform, and Action Agenda.


Accommodation Resources

Here you can find some recommendations as well as resources on planning unit events.