Senate District 07

Senate District 7


Senate District 7 is the Endorsing Unit of the Minnesota Democratic Farmer Labor Party providing organization and support for Local, State, Federal and National Democratic Endorsed candidates all across the heartland of the Iron Range in Minnesota ~ Working alongside St. Louis County 07 DFL OU.

*     *     *     *

Congratulations to all of the Newly Elected Board Members, Endorsed Candidates & SCC delegates!! 

*    *    *    *    *    *    *    *

Now the great work begins to elect or Endorsed Candidates across the slate for another Great Blue Wave – Now more than ever for the sake of our Democracy!!!! 


Thank you to all who joined us at the Fair, Parades and events this Summer


Mark your Calendars and Join our

Endorsed Candidates Ben DeNucci & Julie Sandstede & Dave Lislegard

Check out their Websites & FB pages & join us at the Office!!!

Watch for door knocking events, lit dropping and making GOTV phone call events near you and Come join us as you can to support of our candidates as we lead up to this very important election!!!



WE need you to help us door knock, make phone calls and GOTV!!!!

Our office is located at 2630 First Avenue, Hibbing MN (218) 206-3071

Please reach out to our Coordinated Campaign Manager Nate Borth to see how you can help and to apply for any open positions with the DFL team @ [email protected]

We’ll be working every day for Ben DeNucci – contact Josh at 218-213-7074 to coordinated a place and time to meet!  Julie Sandstede door knocks daily out of our Hibbing Office starting at noon.


We will try to be open as Covid protocol allows. Call us if you’d like to come in and pick up signs, help us door knock and help to answer any questions.  (218)206-3071!!!  We’ll be adding more days as we get closer to the elections!  Stop in and talk politics, issues and campaign plans, make phone calls & door knocking. 




Register to Vote and/or Check your current Registration for accuracy at:


General Election Early Voting Starts on September 23-November 7 at:


General Election Day is November 8!!!

Or, find out how to request your ballot at:


Join us on FB:  Iron Range DFL / SD7 & St. Louis Co. 07 DFL


Cathy Daniels, Chair – PO Box   494, Hibbing MN  55746

Cell:  218-440-1803

[email protected]

*** *** ***

Senate District 7 Executive Board:

Cathy Daniels, Chair

Johnnie Forrest, Vice Chair

Samantha Lowen, Secretary

Nathaniel Dropp, Treasurer

Travis Paulson, Outreach & Inclusion Officer

MN State Central Committee Alternate Delegate is:  

Vicki Nelson

Directors:  Lora Anderson, Bev Brown, Nathaniel Coward, John “Skip” Dickenson, George Erickson, Hannah Forti, Timothy Klumpner, Michael Maleska, Nancy Melin, Vicki Nelson, Dan Pierce & Gordon Smith.



Easy way to support us & the DFL & get complete reimbursement. 

Your 2022 contributions go toward continued support for our candidates and keeping the grassroots efforts alive and prosperous!!!  You can apply for a once per year Political Contribution Refund (PCR) up to $50 per individual and $100 per couple – give $50 or $100, get $50 or $100 back!” 

 Please feel free to mail your Contribution to St. Louis County 07 DFL, PO Box 494, Hibbing MN  55746





Our SD7 Endorsed Candidate for MN State Senate

Ben DeNucci:






DeNucci for Senate4, PO Box 142, Nashwauk MN 55769


Our SD7 Endorsed MN House Representative – 7A

Julie Sandstede:






Julie Sandstede for MN House Volunteer Committee, PO Box 526, Hibbing MN


Our SD7 Endorsed MN House Representative – 7B

Dave Lislegard:







*   *   *   *   *   *   *   *


*   *   *   *   *   *






Senator David Joseph Tomassoni

December 5, 1952 ~ August 11, 2022

From the Rupp Funeral Home, Chisholm:

A Mass of Christian Burial will be at 11:00 a.m. on Friday, August 19, 2022, at St. Joseph’s Catholic Church, Chisholm, with Fr. Paul Strommer as celebrant. Visitation will begin Thursday, August 18 from 5:00pm-7:00pm at St. Joseph’s Catholic Church and continue for one hour prior to the Mass in the church. Interment will be private in Chisholm Cemetery. Arrangements are entrusted to Rupp Funeral Home & Cremation Service in Chisholm.

Senator David J. Tomassoni, 69, of Chisholm, died Thursday, August 11, 2022, at Solvay Hospice in Duluth. He was born December 5, 1952 in Bemidji, MN, to Chester and Helen (Bertolini) Tomassoni. David was a lifelong Chisholm resident. He was united in marriage to Charlotte A. Gauvin. David was a loving, caring son, brother, father, husband, grandfather and friend. His personality was bigger than life. He always had a smile on his face and a twinkle in his eyes. He lit up a room when he walked in. His passion for the people of Chisholm and the Iron Range for the last 30 years in the Minnesota Legislature is second to none. He loved hockey and all sports in general, but most of all he loved his family. David has left a mark on everyone who crossed his path. He truly will be missed.

He is survived by his wife Charlotte, children: Dante (Tiffany), Danny (Anna), Chauntell (Mark) Morris; six grandchildren: Cecilia, Crosby, Wyatt, Davinia, Veronica, Josephina; sister, Mary Jo (Richard) Newbauer, brothers, John (Nancy), Dick (Jane).
He is preceded in death by his parents.

A special thanks to the amazing staff at Solvay Hospice for taking such great care of him in his final months.
In lieu of flowers, the family asks donations to Never Surrender.


 *   *   *   *   *   *   *


In loving memory of a life well lived Patty!

Patricia Lila “Patty” Murto

June 7, 1950 ~ June 25, 2022


 *   *   *   *   *   *   *


In Remembrance of Monica Tobey

Wife of our Friend and Vice Chair Cliff Tobey

Monica Jean Plombon-Tobey

December 15, 1975 ~ April 15, 2022




In Remembrance of our dear friend Donyta

Donyta J. Wright

1935 ~ January 20, 2022



In Memory

Joseph James Moren

October 2, 1930 ~ November 11, 2021


Thomas Martin Rukavina

August 23, 1950 ~ January 7. 2019



Accommodation Resources

Here you can find some recommendations as well as resources on planning unit events.


DFL Party Documents

Here you can find the DFL Constitution, Official Call, Platform, and Action Agenda.