Congressional District 8

Our Mission: The Congressional District 8 DFL (Campaign Finance Reg# 20253), a unit of the Minnesota Democratic Farmer Labor party, encompasses Aitkin, Beltrami, Carlton, Cass, Chisago, Cook, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Isanti, Itasca, Kanabec, Koochiching, Lake, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, St. Louis, and Wadena counties. We are intent on supporting DFL candidates for U.S. Congress and also for U.S. Senate, Minnesota executive offices, and for our state legislative and senate seats. Donate!DONATE

Issues:  See our party platform (Ongoing Platform + Action Agenda) for issues that are important to us. A few of these issues are:

  • Equal opportunities for everyone
  • Quality affordable public education
  • Workers right to organize and bargain collectively
  • A clean, safe environment
  • Taxes based on income / ability to pay
  • The right to a secure retirement for everyone
  • A national, single-payer health care system to provide full coverage for ALL citizens

Thank you to everyone for making our
Annual Oberstar Dinner a huge success!

Our Constitution: 8th Congressional District DFL Constitution
The delegates and alternates elected by the Organizing Unit Conventions of the 8th District to be delegates and alternates to the State Convention shall be the delegates and alternates of the 8th District Convention and shall be the governing body of the 8th District organization whose responsibilities shall include the endorsement and election of a DFL Congressperson, assistance in the election of the DFL endorsed candidates to other offices, and such duties as the DFL Constitution shall authorize.
The election laws of the State of Minnesota, the DFL State Constitution and Bylaws, and the applicable parts of the call of the DFL are parts of this Constitution. Specifically included is the Affirmative Action Statement. Electronic participation in 8th CD meetings is permitted.
The Executive Committee shall consist of a Chair and an Associate Chair, who may not be of the same gender; a Secretary, a Treasurer, an Affirmative Action Officer, and at least eleven Directors. Twenty percent of Executive committee shall constitute a quorum. Equal division of gender shall be applied to the election of the Executive Committee. The Chair may, with approval of the committee, appoint a district finance director and define his/her duties. Such person is without vote unless already an Executive Committee member.
The District Central Committee shall consist of the Executive Committee, all Organizing unit chairs and associate Chairs and the members of the State DFL Central Committee who reside in the district. Quorum consist of the majority of those in attendance at the meeting . The Organizing units shall report the election of party officers, delegates and alternates, State Central Committee members and persons elected to the 8th District Convention committees within five (5) days of the Organizing Unit conventions.
The Executive Committee shall meet as soon as the State DFL Party has designated the optional dates for conventions and shall elect a time and place for the district convention. The Chair, with the approval of the Executive committee, shall appoint conveners of the district pre- convention committees. (Members of committees are elected at Organizing Unit conventions in accordance with the State Constitution and By-laws. V.
Endorsement of a candidate for public office requires a 60 percent affirmative vote of the convention, central committee, or commission making the endorsement. No convention, central committee or commission representing a geographical area less than the area competent to elect the public official may endorse a candidate. No one may vote on the endorsement unless they are a resident of the area in which that election will occur. An endorsement given before the primary is valid after the primary only if the candidate’s name appears on the general election ballot. In absence of any direction to the contrary by a convention or commission, a central committee may endorse candidates between conventions or commissions. Every ballot for endorsement shall be a test of a quorum.
The Constitution may be amended by a 60 percent affirmative vote at any 8th District Convention. This Constitution shall be effective upon adjournment of the convention at which it, or an amendment thereto, is adopted.
The Chair and Associate Chair of the Congressional District shall be members of the State Executive Committee representing the 8th Congressional District.
The Chair and Associate Chair shall be delegates to the Congressional District and State Convention.
In all matters not governed by this Constitution, convention rules, or bylaws shall be governed by Robert’s Rules of Order, most recently revised.

Communication with the CD8:  Please fill out the attached form to get notices from CD8 HERE  or go directly to the form at:

Contributions:  In order to support our mission and the basic principles of our organization, the 8th Congressional District DFL Party (Campaign Finance Reg# 20253) needs your support.  Donations can be sent to our mailing address, or can be made on-line HERE. The 8th Congressional District DFL uses contributions to fund a myriad of activities.
Our expenditures support the basic principles outlined in our mission statement.  Some of the items we use your contributions for include:

  • Contributions to candidates for use in their campaigns
  • Operating expenses for the CD8 DFL organizing unit
  • Mailings
  • Conventions
  • Yard signs and other campaign materials

The Minnesota Political Campaign Refund (PCR)
provides refunds of $75/individual or $150/couple
per year for contributions made to Minnesota political
parties and candidates for state offices.

Thank you to those who have donated already.

Volunteer:  The 8th Congressional District DFL is always in need of your help. There are a number of tasks to be done during each election cycle and we are always interested in hearing from new people. Call or email us for more information.

Executive Committee 2022 – 2024


Emily Nygren – Chair

Bill Pick – Associate Chair

Cyndy Martin – Secretary

Jeff Phillipich – Treasurer

Scott Yeazle – Outreach & Inclusion



David Clanaugh – Director

Barbara Crow – Director

Lee Cutler – Director

Valarie Field – Director

Richard Gehrke – Director

Matthew Hahn – Director

Curtiss Hunt – Director

Ramona Kastenbaur – Director

Carrie Mitchell – Director

Janet Nelson – Director

Travis Paulson – Director

Louise Seliski – Director

Debra Taylor – Director

Michelle Toven – Director

Dirk Zwak – Director


Accommodation Resources

Here you can find some recommendations as well as resources on planning unit events.


DFL Party Documents

Here you can find the DFL Constitution, Official Call, Platform, and Action Agenda.